What I Know

I don’t know where we’re going to be living on Saturday.

What I know is that Charlie works his last shift on Thursday night, and we have to leave our apartment after that.  I also know that we don’t yet have our next contract (or the place to live that comes with it). I know that we’re 2,400 miles from home. I know that we need to begin packing our things even though we don’t know what will happen next.

That’s what I know about our job situation. And to be honest, it does seem crazy.  But I also know several other things. (aren’t you glad? this was starting to sound scary!)

I know that God is good. I know He is in control. I know He has a plan for us and that He is not scrambling around trying to figure out what we’re going to do. I know He already knows.  I know I can trust Him to provide for us because I remember all the countless ways He already has. And since I know He doesn’t change, I know He won’t fail us now. I know there’s nothing we can do to help Him.  I know that all He’s asked us to do is wait on His timing and be nourished by the intimacy that comes from this deep dependence on Him.

Our Bible reading plan has led us to several Psalms lately in which David laments that God seems silent on some matter of distress.  Yet always within a few verses, David remembers how God has rescued him and provided for him before. With that remembrance, David’s laments immediately turn to praise and divine confidence.

God has never failed to give us what we need.  Right now we need our next travel nursing assignment.  Some might think we’re at a crisis point.  Yet I know we’re hidden in the shelter of the Almighty, and He is never, ever, in crisis.  

Even though this is the latest we’ve ever gone without knowing where we’ll go next, we fully believe and trust that nothing is wrong. It’s not as if God has gotten off track or forgotten us. We’ve realized His timing for revealing His plan is different from ours, and that is still very hard to accept in some moments, but I know He will reveal it.

Almost a year ago we asked Him to take us on an adventure that would dramatically grow our faith.  Even though we’re tempted to panic, we’re going to constantly choose to trust Him and praise Him for answering our prayer.

I now know that faith sometimes means packing your belongings without yet having a place to unpack them.

This hymn leapt out to me at church today, and I think sums up how God wants us to approach thinking about our situation right now:  “Praise ye the Lord, who o’er all things so wondrously reigneth; Shelters thee under His wings, yea, so gently sustaineth. Has thou not seen how they desires e’er have been granted in what He ordaineth?”

He reigns over all things. He shelters us under His wings. He sustains us (provides what we need). We have seen before how He grants our desires according to His will.  For all these reasons, we praise Him!

5 Comments

Filed under California

5 responses to “What I Know

  1. Mark

    What I know: I’m proud of my daughter and her husband, and thankful that their faith (and example) is in the the Lord. You are both in the prayers of so many people, and in the hand of our God.

  2. carol carpenter

    What I know: GOD KNOWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. James Oesterwind

    Praying for you all. Thanks for your solid testimony!

  4. Martha Gayle

    From Proverbs and I say this all the time: “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In all ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths.” You’re doing this–so proud of you and your faith!!! KEEP ON LETTING YOUR LIGHT SHINE!

  5. Phyllis and Ted

    Love you and Charlie…God has blessed us through you, I know that!

Leave a Reply

